Grumpy

Now that I am getting older, I find myself being WAY more opinionated than I was when I was younger. Like I know the answer to everything. And if I don’t like something, I will say so.

When I was in my 20’s, I worked as a bank teller. (Now THERE’S a big surprise – if you read my profile, you will see that I am still a banker) The customers were often senior citizens, and boy were they ever grumpy! They just said whatever came into their little gray heads. I read something once that said, “Anyone in their 20’s who isn’t a liberal doesn’t have a heart. Anyone in their 40’s who isn’t a conservative doesn’t have a brain.” Might have been Winston Churchill – a great man in anyone’s eyes. See – there’s that opinion thingy again.

But is that true? I want to stay true to my Christian values, but where is the compassion? Lately I have been missing the compassion for my fellow man. So I will go looking for it.

Q: Is that true? Do we get grumpier as we get older? If so, why? If not, why not? Let me know in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “Grumpy

  1. Um, some of the grumpiest people I know are also the most compassionate. I worked with this guy on a computer help desk, and our other co-workers were afraid of him, but he was unfailingly polite to our users, and would often go out of his way to solve their problems. Grumpiness is okay if you are trying to make things better. But I’m not a conservative, so I guess I’m brainless according to Churchill, unless by “conservative” he meant don’t waste stuff and don’t change stuff for the sake of change.

  2. I think “Conservative” and “Liberal” mean different things in England, and probably did in the mid-20th century. Unfortunately, “Conservative” has a bad rap in the US in the early 21st century. It should mean small government, lower taxes, job creation from capitalism, and opportunity for all.

Leave a Reply

