The iPod life…

I am a technological Luddite. I wouldn’t say I hate technology, because that would be inaccurate. I like it, it’s just that I don’t get so much of the newer stuff: how it’s changing, WHY it’s changing, and so on.

For example, I saw an ad for an app that lets you remember where you parked your car. OK. I just “remember” where I parked my car. I don’t need a digital handheld device to remind me where I parked my car. The way I looked at the app was “well, maybe people are thinking such lofty thoughts that remembering something as mundane as where your car is parked is just a waste of brain cycles.”

Einstein was quoted as saying “Why memorize something I could just look up?” when he was asked why he couldn’t remember his own phone number. But Einstein, was, um, busy saving the world, so he had an excuse. What are the rest of you REALLY doing? Yeah, I thought so. Updating your Facebook status: “Just got the coolest app! It remembers where my car is parked, so I don’t have to think about THAT mundane detail. Oh shit, my iPhone just broke. Now I can’t find my car to go get my iPhone fixed. This SUX!”

Yeah.

I don’t hate technology, I think it’s just totally wasted.

However – I recently was given an iPod Touch as a gift. Now my kids all have iPods and listen to them constantly. They plug them in to the car stereo, have their music all organized, and such. I didn’t get it. I do now.

I loaded up a bunch of my CD’s, and got my own cover art if iTunes (that lamest of all apps) didn’t have the correct art.

And, I did buy an album from iTunes. Elton John’s Captain Fantastic & the Brown Dirt Cowboy. Wow – the digital remastering of this music collection is just amazing. Look for a post on the ol’ Captain.

So not ALL new technology sucks – some of it reawakens an interest in old memories that mean so much.

2 thoughts on “The iPod life…

Leave a Reply

